Vision and Leadership

The vision of the GMA is to provide an integrated, innovative and efficient public transport system that promotes sustainable socio-economic growth in ​Gauteng. To achieve the vision, the GMA's mission is to manage, co-ordinate and oversee the Gautrain Project through the implementation of the Concession Agreement between the GPG and the Concessi onaire. The GMA values are confirmed as excellence, professionalism, integrity, fairness and transparency, trustworthiness, accountability and responsibility, collaboration and co-creativity, ethical and prudent behaviour and respectfulness.

The Gauteng MEC for Roads and Transport Infrastructure is the Executive Authority of the GMA and the GMA Board is the Accounting Authority as contemplated in the Public Finance Management Act. The GMA Board is appointed by the MEC for Roads and Transport.

The GMA Board including the Chairperson and the Deputy Chairperson, is appointed by the MEC for Roads and Transport in accordance with the GMA Act. The Board consists of a majority of Independent Non-Executive Members. The CEO is the only Executive Member of the Board, by virtue of his Office.

The roles of the Chairperson of the Board and the CEO are separated, in line with best practice. 

The Board Chairperson is an independent Non-Executive Member of the Board and is responsible for ensuring the integrity and effectiveness of the Board and its Committees, as well as ensuring that the Board discharges its responsibilities.

The GMA board is chaired by Prof. Mfanelo Ntsobi and is made up of:

  • Deputy Chairperson- Malebo Matolong
  • Tebogo Seale
  • Lungile Mtiya
  • Mamela Luthuli
  • Khalid Golding
  • Adv.Kgotso Maja
  • Bafana Sibisi
  • Bongisizwe Mpondo

The GMA Board is the foundation of the GMA's corporate governance systems and is accountable and responsible for the GMA's performance. The Board retains effective control through a clear governance structure and has established committee​s to assist it.

The Board has established the following committees and also approved the Committees' Terms of Reference:

  • Audit and Risk Committee
  • Finance Committee
  • HR and Remuneration Committee
  • Social and Ethics Committee